Sun Spot


I had a terrible time with photographing the moon a month or so ago with it’s eclipse so I thought I’d give it a try with the Sun and Venus sliding across its face. Had better luck this go around.

Photographing the sun brings lots of challenges. Like what kind of filter do you use to look right into it? This first picture, I put three different kinds of neutral density filters together.

The next photo, I used an infrared filter that is so dark, you can hold it to the sun and look through it without the sun hurting your eyes. This is the first time I’ve ever used it. After buying it over the internet, I didn’t realize how dark it was and couldn’t find anything to use it with. I will now save it for sun shots!

So out of 60 photos, I had about 6 that showed little Venus covering the sun. Thank goodness for digital cameras.

See you all next time around!

Dave

2 comments on “Sun Spot

  1. Danudin says:

    Great shots Dave, you’re braver than me, I only look at the sun through a viewfinder at Dawn or Dusk. Interesting point, When viewed from Australia, Venus started it’s transit in the bottom right hand quadrant and traversed to the left.

  2. John & Lois says:

    Fabulous capture.

Leave a Reply

