Experimenting with Topaz Software


I got into using a lot of the various Topaz Labs software by chance. I saw a YouTube thing about it and fell in love with it. Sure, I still use Nik’s Viveza 2 and Silver Effects Pro 2 a lot as well, but for sheer adventure and fun, Topaz is the way to go. And it’s not that expensive either for all of their items. Because it’s rainy today, I thought I’d play around a little and post some examples. Let me know if you have any thoughts.

I used the infrared setting in Topaz B&W with some other slider adjustments to enhance to feel of infrared.

I took this color photo of an old dilapidated auto garage out in Antelope and used Topaz B&W with some coloring effects to produce a different look.

A bench in the gardens at Belknap Hot Springs. I used Topaz Simplify to render the photo into an artwork looking piece.

Like I say, Topaz is a lot of fun. It’s somewhat akin to being on drugs – you just don’t want to stop playing with it. (I’m not endorsing drugs. I’m a retired detective!!)

8 comments on “Experimenting with Topaz Software

  1. Danudin says:

    I’m not much into B&W and although I like the top shots contents the second one really grabs me.

  2. kim andrew says:

    I like them all, and I like the little Grosbeaks too. Looks like you’ve figured out the blog thing. 🙂

  3. John & Lois says:

    Very nice examples of what Topaz can do. I also enjoy using the plug ins.

  4. hmca14 says:

    I am not a big fan of infrared photography but I LOVE the way you have used it in your top photo. Think this is a beautifully composed image. Agree with you about Topaz products….definitely fun! I really enjoyed this post.

Leave a Reply

